The Atlanta Hawks beat the Dallas Mavericks 105-101 on the road at the American Airlines Center.  This was the first of two meetings between these two teams this regular season.  With the win, the Hawks improved to 28-22 on the season and 1-0 in the regular season series with the Mavericks.  The starters for the Hawks were Jeff Teague and Devin Harris in the backcourt, Anthony Tolliver and Josh Smith at the two forward spots, and Al Horford at center.  Louis Williams (torn ACL, right knee) and Johan Petro did not dress.  Anthony Morrow, Jannero Pargo, and Mike Scott received DNP-CDs.  The leading scorer for the Hawks was Josh Smith, with a game-high 26 points.  He also had 13 boards and six dimes, giving him a double-double on the night.  Al Horford also added a double-double, with 21 points and 10 rebounds.  Jeff Teague contributed 20 points and nine assists, nearly registering a double-double as well.  Devin Harris had 15 points and five dimes.  Kyle Korver scored 10 points off the bench.  The leading scorer for the Mavericks was Dirk Nowitzki, with 24 points.  In the first quarter, the Hawks got off to a 10-0 run to start the game.  They actually extended their lead to the biggest of the game, at 13, before settling on an eight-point lead at the end of one.  In the second quarter, the Mavs went on a 7-0 run, and they cut the Hawks' lead to 49-48 at the break.  In the third quarter, the Hawks did manage to score 33 points, but they also allowed 33 points, and they maintained their one-point lead heading into the final frame.  In the fourth quarter, the Mavs took a five-point lead with 6:22 to play in regulation.  However, Josh Smith and Al Horford combined for 14 points in the final 6:22, and then a couple of clutch free-throws sealed the deal, and the Hawks won by four.  I think the key to this win for the Hawks was fastbreak points.  The Hawks outscored the Mavericks (who average the third-most fastbreak points in the NBA) 26-14 in that category.  Good win for the Hawks against the former team of both Devin Harris and DeShawn Stevenson (the latter of whom won a championship in Dallas in 2011).